Hello, blog readers!

After a bit of a hiatus, Shan and I are BACK and ready to make this blog better than ever! We’re giving you a delicious “first” post about how to bake proper British scones! So what makes a British scone different than the American scones we’re used to seeing in Starbucks? Well, for starters, you’ll notice the drastically different shape – the British scones are round (the shape usually achieved through the use of a biscuit cutter) while their American counterparts are cut into triangles. The British scones are also less sweet and not as dense, often topped with gorgeous clotted cream and jam. Ever since returning from my time in England, I’ve been searching for an authentic British scone recipe to remind me of the first cream tea I had at the Bullivant Tea Shop in York. I recently prepared a batch of scones that are the closest yet to what I remember, and I’ll be walking you through the directions step by step so you, too, can create the perfect British scone!

I’m using this recipe from RockRecipes.com. In my experience, the hardest part of finding a proper scone recipe is the fact that most of them use metric measurements, which makes complete sense, of course, but can be difficult for those of us who were trained in baking in America! The recipe I used had nicely converted American measurements and scones1easy-to-follow directions. Proper scones are simple and require few ingredients – flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, milk, and eggs are all you really need! You first start by mixing together your dry ingredients. The next step, which is arguably the most important, it adding in the butter. The key to a proper scone is making sure your butter is very cold. Cut your butter up in small pieces and use either a food processor or a dough blender until your mixture reassembles a coarse meal.

Next, you want to whisk your wet ingredients in a bowl. I added an optional 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla for a little extra flavor and sweetness – you could also add in some lemon juice or scones3zest for a different flavor. Once it’s whisked together, add your wet ingredients to your dry ingredients and quickly mix it all up with a spoon. An important note about baking scones is to be careful not to over-mix – this could cause your dough to get to tough (the same goes for making brownies!). I also added in some blueberries, although they’re not traditional to scones, because I am obsessed with berries and I’ll take any opportunity to eat them.

After your dough is mixed up, transfer it to a floured surface and pat out a round. Using a biscuit cutter (I used a 1 1/2 inch circle), cut out your scones and drop them on a parchment scones4paper-lined baking sheet. (I did not take my own advice because I was out of parchment paper, so it still works even if you don’t have it!). Brush your scones with a little bit of the mixture from your wet ingredients (I also failed to do this step) and stick those beauties in the oven! In 12 – 15 minutes, you’ll be looking at some delicious and proper British scones. Make sure to eat them with plenty of butter, your favorite jam, and DEFINITELY clotted cream, if you can find it!

scones8Do you have a favorite scone recipe? Let us know in the comments or on our Twitter page!

Keep calm and bake on,

Rae